Skip to main content
Press Releases

pepper at BUS2BUS 2022: impressive appearance of the technological leader and pioneer in the retrofitting industry

By 6. May 2022May 16th, 2022No Comments
  • Positive response and strong demand at the pepper booth
  • Delivery of the etrofit Citaro C1 to Hanse Mondial
  • Federal Minister for Digital and Transport shows interest in innovative solutions for electrifying the commercial vehicle sector

 

Denkendorf, 05/06/2022pepper saw an exceptionally positive outcome as the only supplier of retrofitting solutions for commercial vehicles at BUS2BUS 2022 in Berlin.

Numerous interested guests from Germany and abroad visited the pepper team at its booth, where they had the opportunity to see an electrified Mercedes-Benz Citaro C1. Over the past few years, pepper has worked continuously on making the bus ready for series production in the required quality – a feat unique in the retrofitting industry. In addition to meeting ISO 9001, certification to ISO 26262 for functional safety underscores the quality standard achieved. The further development of pepper’s own Vehicle Control Unit, various adjustments to driver profiles and vehicle handling, air conditioning and increased energy efficiency all contribute to the high standard of the product.

“BUS2BUS was a complete success for the pepper team. It was important and also truly inspiring to finally meet face-to-face and discuss industry trends on a personal level after such a long time. Retrofitting was an absolutely hot topic. The interest in our technology for electrifying commercial vehicles was so great partly because, in combination with new vehicle procurement, it performs a key function in achieving the required number of electrified vehicles for successful mobility transition,” says Alexander Lietz, Head of Sales D/A/CH at pepper motion GmbH.

Vehicle delivery to Hanse Mondial

Another highlight of the trade show was the official handover of the keys to Hanse Mondial GmbH. Due to the ambitions of Hanse Mondial with regard to actively shaping the necessary mobility turnaround as well as an increased demand for zero-emission vehicles, the Hamburg-based company decided to use a pepper bus for the long term. The full-service mobility agency with a focus on bus logistics had already used a pepper bus as a shuttle for congress participants at the ITS World Congress in Hamburg in the fall of 2021. The positive response and the quality of the pepper bus was reason enough to include the bus in its own mobility services.

 

Julien Figur, CEO Hanse Mondial GmbH; Andreas Hager, CEO, pepper motion GmbH (v.l.n.r.) – click picture to download

Retrofitting has a key function in implementing CVD on the way to zero-emissions public transport

Dr. Volker Wissing, Federal Minister for Digital and Transport, also visited the pepper motion GmbH booth, where he learned about the company’s innovative concept from CEO Andreas Hager.

Andreas Hager describes the explosive nature of the topic for politicians and the economy as follows: “The compelling need to think and practice sustainability consistently due to advancing climate change is beyond doubt. Re-use instead of “dumping” well maintained vehicles has now become the watchword for public transport as well. The conventional approach of constantly bringing new vehicles to market is anything but climate-friendly and geared to the future. Retrofitting helps transit authorities and fleet operators to extend the life cycle of buses. The mere fact that the production of a bus chassis generates more CO2 than the batteries used in an electric bus necessitates a shift in thinking toward true sustainability. Only the combination of new vehicles and retrofitting makes it possible to be responsible with the environment and public money and to reach the zero emissions targets faster.”

Another round of funding from the German government is expected soon. The funding program for “alternative drives for buses in passenger transport” for the electrification of local public transport puts conversion on an equal footing with the purchase of new vehicles.

Andreas Hager, CEO, pepper motion GmbH; Dr. Volker Wissing, Federal Minister for Digital and Transport and Martin Ecknig, CEO Messe Berlin GmbH (LTR) – click picture to download

The BUS2BUS Exhibition

The third BUS2BUS took place on April 27-28 at the Berlin Exhibition Grounds. The industry gathering for the German and European bus and supply industry brought together some 2,000 trade visitors* from 25 countries with around 100 exhibitors from 16 countries. Participants* shared the latest trends in the bus industry with a focus on sustainability through technological innovation. (Source: Press release about BUS2BUS issued by the organizer Messe Berlin GmbH).

 

About pepper motion GmbH

pepper – electrifying transportation! The German, privately financed company with headquarters in Denkendorf and offices in Garching near Munich, Paderborn and Vienna employs almost 100 people.

As the first digital OEM worldwide (without its own warehousing and manufacturing), pepper offers innovative solutions for the electrification (retrofitting) of used and new commercial vehicles such as trucks in distribution transport, buses in local public transport (LPT), and municipal vehicles. pepper is ISO 9001 certified and as such is the only supplier of conversion solutions to ensure operational safety according to international automotive industry standards such as ISO 26262 for functional safety. A network of international partners guarantees service and availability across Europe.

With its holistic approach to telematics, charging infrastructure, fleet management and autonomous driving, the company designs quickly implementable and cost-efficient solution packages for sustainable mobility transformation and a “second life” for existing commercial vehicles. They effectively support the implementation of the CO2 reduction targets in accordance with the European Green Deal Agreement and the Clean Vehicles Directive, active as of summer 2021.

pepper was awarded the German Mobility Prize (2018) and the Austrian VCÖ Mobility Prize (2019), as well as being voted one of the top 50 start-ups in Europe in the field of mobility (2020, EUSP).

The subsidiary pepper motion Austria GmbH, based in Vienna, is the pepper Group’s software development center. pepper is represented with further sales locations in Italy, France, and Poland.

www.peppermotion.com

 

Press contact:

360°communications GmbH
E-Mail: peppermotion@360communications.de
Tel: +49 89 5436994 00

 

Download PDF

 

Leave a Reply

Skip to main content
Pressemitteilung

pepper auf der BUS2BUS 2022: eindrucksvoller Auftritt des Technologieführers und Pioniers der Retrofitting Branche

By 6. Mai 2022Mai 30th, 2022No Comments
  • Positive Resonanz und große Nachfrage am pepper Messestand
  • Übergabe des etrofit Citaro C1 an Hanse Mondial
  • Bundesminister für Digitales und Verkehr zeigt sich interessiert an innovativen Lösungen zur Elektrifizierung des Nutzfahrzeugbereichs

Denkendorf, 06.05.2022 – Als einziger Anbieter von Retrofitting Lösungen für Nutzfahrzeuge auf der BUS2BUS 2022 in Berlin zieht der Technologieführer pepper eine außergewöhnlich positive Bilanz.

Zahlreiche Interessierte aus dem In- und Ausland besuchten das pepper Team am Messestand und besichtigten den elektrifizierten Mercedes-Benz Citaro C1. An der für die Retrofitting-Branche einzigartigen Serienreife und Qualität des Busses wurde in den letzten Jahren kontinuierlich gearbeitet. Neben der Erfüllung der ISO 9001 unterstreicht die Zertifizierung nach ISO 26262 für funktionale Sicherheit den erlangten Qualitätsstandard. Zum hohen Produktniveau tragen beispielsweise auch die Weiterentwicklung der pepper-eigenen Vehicle Control Unit, verschiedene Anpassungen bezüglich Fahrerprofilen und Fahrzeughandling, Klimatisierung oder die nochmals gesteigerte Energieeffizienz bei.

„Für das pepper Team war die BUS2BUS ein voller Erfolg. Es war wichtig und wirklich inspirierend, sich nach so langer Zeit endlich wieder live zu treffen und die Branchentrends auf persönlicher Ebene zu besprechen. Retrofitting war dabei ein absolutes Trend-Thema. Das Interesse an unserer Technologie zur Elektrifizierung von Nutzfahrzeugen war unter anderem auch deshalb so groß, weil sie in Kombination mit der Neufahrzeugbeschaffung eine Schlüsselfunktion zur Erreichung der benötigten Anzahl an elektrifizierten Fahrzeugen für eine erfolgreiche Mobilitätswende einnimmt“, so Alexander Lietz, Head of Sales D/A/CH pepper motion GmbH.

Fahrzeugübergabe an Hanse Mondial

Ein weiteres Messehighlight war die offizielle Schlüsselübergabe an die Hanse Mondial GmbH. Auf Grund der Ambitionen von Hanse Mondial in Hinblick auf eine aktive Mitgestaltung der notwendigen Mobilitätswende sowie einer verstärkten Nachfrage nach emissionsfreien Fahrzeugen hat sich das in Hamburg ansässige Unternehmen für den langfristigen Einsatz eines pepper Busses entschieden. Die Full Service Mobilitätsagentur mit dem Fokus auf Buslogistik hatte bereits im Herbst 2021 auf dem ITS Weltkongress in Hamburg einen pepper Bus als Shuttle für die Kongressteilnehmer*innen eingesetzt. Die positive Resonanz und die Qualität des pepper Busses war Argument genug, den Bus fest in das eigene Mobilitätsangebot aufzunehmen.

 

Julien Figur, CEO Hanse Mondial GmbH; Andreas Hager, Geschäftsführer, pepper motion GmbH (v.l.n.r.) – Zum Download Bild anklicken

Retrofitting hat Schlüsselfunktion für die Umsetzung der CVD hin zum emissionsfreien ÖPNV

Auch Dr. Volker Wissing, Bundesminister für Digitales und Verkehr, besuchte den Stand der pepper motion GmbH und informierte sich bei Geschäftsführer Andreas Hager über das innovative Konzept von pepper.

Die Brisanz des Themas für Politik und Wirtschaft erläutert Andreas Hager wie folgt: „Die zwingende Notwendigkeit, aufgrund des fortschreitenden Klimawandels Nachhaltigkeit konsequent zu denken und zu praktizieren, steht außer Zweifel. Re-Use statt „Abstoßen“ von gut erhaltenen Fahrzeugen lautet nun auch die Devise für den ÖPNV. Das traditionelle Denken, ständig Neufahrzeuge in den Verkehr bringen zu müssen, ist alles andere als klimafreundlich und zukunftsorientiert. Retrofitting hilft den Verkehrsbetrieben und Flottenbetreibern, den Lebenszyklus von Bussen zu verlängern. Allein die Tatsache, dass die Herstellung eines Bus-Chassis mehr CO2 erzeugt als die verwendeten Batterien in einem Elektrobus, fordert ein Umdenken hin zu echter Nachhaltigkeit. Nur die Kombination von Neufahrzeugen und Retrofitting ermöglicht es, verantwortungsvoll mit Umwelt und öffentlichen Geldern umzugehen und das Ziel der Zero Emission schneller zu erreichen.“

In Kürze wird ein weiterer Förderaufruf der Bundesregierung erwartet. Das Förderprogramm für „Alternative Antriebe von Bussen im Personenverkehr“ zur Elektrifizierung des ÖPNV stellt die Umrüstung dem Neukauf von Fahrzeugen gleich.

Andreas Hager, Geschäftsführer, pepper motion GmbH; Dr. Volker Wissing, Bundesminister für Digitales und Verkehr und Martin Ecknig, Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung Messe Berlin GmbH (v.l.n.r.) – Zum Download Bild anklicken

Die Messe BUS2BUS

Die dritte Live-Ausgabe der BUS2BUS fand vom 27. bis 28. April auf dem Berliner Messegelände statt. Der Branchentreff für die deutsche und europäische Bus- und Zulieferindustrie brachte rund 2.000 Fachbesucher*innen aus 25 Ländern mit rund 100 Ausstellern aus 16 Ländern zusammen. Die Teilnehmer*innen tauschten sich über die neuesten Trends der Busbranche aus, wobei Nachhaltigkeit durch technologische Innovationen im Mittelpunkt stand. (Quelle: Pressemitteilung zur BUS2BUS der veranstaltenden Messe Berlin GmbH).

 

Über die pepper motion GmbH

pepper – electrifying transportation! Das deutsche, privat finanzierte Unternehmen mit Sitz in Denkendorf und Büros in Garching bei München, Paderborn und Wien beschäftigt mehr als 100 Mitarbeiter*innen.

Als erster digitaler OEM weltweit (ohne eigene Lagerhaltung und Fertigung) bietet pepper innovative Lösungen für die Elektrifizierung (Retrofitting) von gebrauchten und neuen Nutzfahrzeugen wie Lastkraftwagen im Verteilerverkehr, Bussen im öffentlichen Personennahverkehr (ÖPNV) sowie kommunalen Fahrzeugen an. pepper ist ISO 9001 zertifiziert und gewährleistet als einziger Anbieter von Umrüstlösungen Betriebssicherheit nach internationalen Standards der Automotive Industrie wie funktionale Sicherheit ISO 26262. Ein internationales Partnernetz garantiert Service und Verfügbarkeit in Europa.

Mit seinem ganzheitlichen Ansatz bis hin zu Telematik, Ladeinfrastruktur, Flottenmanagement und autonomem Fahren konzipiert das Unternehmen schnell umsetzbare und kosteneffiziente Lösungspakete für den nachhaltigen Mobilitätswandel und ein „Second Life“ von bestehenden Nutzfahrzeugen. Es unterstützt effektiv die Umsetzung der CO2-Einsparziele gemäß europäischem Green Deal Abkommen und der seit Mitte 2021 geltenden Clean Vehicles Directive.

pepper wurde mit dem Deutschen Mobilitätspreis (2018) und dem österreichischen VCÖ Mobilitätspreis (2019) ausgezeichnet sowie zu einem der Top 50 Startups in Europa im Bereich Mobilität gewählt (2020, EUSP).

Die Tochtergesellschaft pepper motion Austria GmbH mit Sitz in Wien ist das Software-Entwicklungszentrum der pepper Gruppe. In Frankreich, Italien und Polen ist pepper mit weiteren Vertriebsstandorten vertreten.

Weitere Informationen: www.peppermotion.com

 

Pressekontakt:
360°communications GmbH
E-Mail: peppermotion@360communications.de
Tel: +49 89 5436994 00

 

Download PDF

 

Leave a Reply