Skip to main content
Press Releases

pepper announces series electrification of the Mercedes-Benz Actros MP5 truck

By 8. September 2022No Comments

Denkendorf, 08.09.2022 – pepper motion GmbH announces that the electrified Mercedes-Benz Actros MP5 will be available from 2023 in series quality. The company is expanding its product portfolio and, alongside the Actros MP3, is also offering fleet managers the conversion of the tractor unit launched in 2019 as an 18t 4×2 (lowliner, low frame or standard frame). Core target markets are Germany, Austria, France, Italy, and Poland.

The electrified, payload-optimized truck is ideally suited to transporting freight, such as in round trips or factory traffic, and reliably handles day journeys with interim charging. The first vehicles will receive four battery packs with a total of 240 kWh and thus have a range of around 250 km.

The Mercedes-Benz Actros MP3 model offered for conversion by pepper has been demonstrating its robustness and reliability to customers ever since 2021.

 

MB Actros MP5 (2019)

Number of units planned, price and availability

pepper plans to produce around 50 converted Actros tractor units in its 2023 series production ramp-up and around 2,500 vehicles by 2030. In terms of price, the converted truck ranges from 270,000 to 290,000 Euros and is eligible for funding in line with the German Federal Ministry of Digital Affairs and Transport’s funding directive.  Leasing, hire purchase and as-a-service financing options are also offered. If no vehicle is available in the customer fleet for electrification, vehicles that have already been converted can be purchased from pepper directly. The Actros MP5 can be purchased immediately, with production scheduled to start in the second quarter of 2023.

 

Telematics services for efficient fleet management

Telematics services provide fleet managers with essential support to optimize processes and reduce operating costs. For example, the Actros MP5 electrified by pepper has some innovative features that further advance the digitization of the transport sector. The first step involves making vehicle tracking, online diagnosis, and the capture of live data about the vehicle state possible, in addition to over-the-air software (OTA) updates.

 

Innovative technology for series-quality electrification

As a manufacturer and developer, pepper electrifies its customers’ own vehicles, provides conversion companies and OEMs with complete etrofit kits, or end customers with already converted vehicles. The award-winning, series-production-ready etrofit electrification kit includes all the components needed to convert a vehicle or for a new vehicle build. At the heart of the modular drive system is pepper’s own vehicle control unit (VCU): The system software architecture for reliably controlling the entire vehicle complies with the automotive industry’s highest standard for functional safety (ISO 26262).

 

Holistic solution for cost-effective decarbonization of vehicle fleets

The rapid shift toward climate-friendly, zero-emission mobility increasingly demanded by governments and society

poses major challenges to companies in the transport sector. One of pepper’s own concepts assists customers with overcoming the complex challenges of transitioning to zero-emission fleets by providing them with an entire ecosystem. It includes solutions in different modules, such as supplying green electricity at competitive prices, the charging infrastructure needed at the customer depot, vehicles, and their operation (not including drivers), servicing and maintenance, as well as additional add-ons such as training and sustainability reports. As a result, existing vehicles and infrastructures can be retained and transformed in a risk-free manner.

 

pepper motion GmbH will be presenting its solutions for mobility of the future at the IAA Transportation 2022 in Hanover in Hall 20, Booth A21.

 

 

About pepper motion GmbH

 

pepper – electrifying transportation! The German privately financed company with headquarters in Denkendorf and offices in Paderborn, Vienna and Garching near Munich employs more than 100 people.

As the first digital OEM worldwide (without its own warehousing and manufacturing), pepper offers innovative solutions for the electrification (retrofitting) of used and new commercial vehicles such as trucks in distribution transport, buses in local public transport (LPT), and municipal vehicles. pepper is ISO 9001 certified and is the only supplier of conversion solutions to ensure operational safety according to international automotive industry standards such as ISO 26262 for functional safety. A network of international partners guarantees service and availability across Europe.

 

With its holistic approach to telematics, charging infrastructure, fleet management and autonomous driving, the company designs quickly implementable and cost-efficient solution packages for sustainable mobility transformation and a “second life” for existing commercial vehicles. It effectively supports the implementation of the CO2 reduction targets in accordance with the European Green Deal Agreement and the Clean Vehicles Directive, which came into force in 2021.

pepper was awarded the German Mobility Prize (2018) and the Austrian VCÖ Mobility Prize (2019), as well as being voted one of the top 50 start-ups in Europe in the field of mobility (2020, EUSP).

 

The subsidiary pepper motion Austria GmbH, based in Vienna, is the pepper Group’s software development center. pepper is represented with further sales locations in France, Italy, and Poland.

 

More information: www.peppermotion.com

 

Press contact:
360°communications GmbH
E-mail: peppermotion@360communications.de
Phone: +49 89 5436994 00

Download PDF

Leave a Reply

Skip to main content
Pressemitteilung

pepper kündigt Serienelektrifizierung des Mercedes-Benz LKW Actros MP5 an

By 8. September 2022No Comments

Denkendorf, 8.9.2022 – die pepper motion GmbH kündigt die Verfügbarkeit des elektrifizierten Mercedes-Benz Actros MP5 ab 2023 in Serienqualität an. Damit erweitert das Unternehmen sein Produktportfolio und bietet Fuhrparkbetreibenden neben dem Actros MP3 auch die Umrüstung der 2019 eingeführten Sattelzugmaschine als 18t 4×2 (Lowliner, Low Frame oder Standard Frame) an. Kernzielmärkte sind Deutschland, Österreich, Frankreich, Italien und Polen.

Der elektrifizierte, nutzlastoptimierte LKW ist ideal für den Ladungsverkehr wie z.B. im Rundlauftransport oder Werksverkehr geeignet und bewältigt Tagestouren mit Zwischenladen zuverlässig. Die ersten Fahrzeuge erhalten vier Batteriepacks mit insgesamt 240 kWh und verfügen damit über eine Reichweite von etwa 250 km.

Bereits seit 2021 bestätigt das von pepper zur Umrüstung angebotene Modell Mercedes-Benz Actros MP3 seine Robustheit und Zuverlässigkeit im Kundeneinsatz.

MB Actros MP5 (2019)

Geplante Stückzahlen, Preis und Verfügbarkeit

pepper plant im Hochlauf der Serienproduktion für 2023 eine Stückzahl von rund 50 umgerüsteten Actros Sattelzugmaschinen, bis 2030 sollen ca. 2.500 Fahrzeuge produziert werden. Preislich bewegt sich der umgerüstete LKW zwischen 270.000 und 290.000 Euro und ist laut Förderrichtlinie des Bundesministeriums für Digitales und Verkehr förderfähig. Auch Leasing, Mietkauf sowie As-a-Service Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten bestehen. Sollte im Kundenfuhrpark kein Fahrzeug für eine Elektrifizierung zur Verfügung stehen, können auch bereits umgerüstete Fahrzeuge direkt bei pepper erworben werden. Der Verkauf des Actros MP5 beginnt sofort, der Produktionsstart ist für das zweite Quartal 2023 vorgesehen.

 

Telematikdienste für effizientes Flottenmanagement

Zur Optimierung der Abläufe und Senkung der Betriebskosten stellen Telematikdienste für Fuhrparkbetreibende eine wesentliche Unterstützung dar. So verfügt der von pepper elektrifizierte Actros MP5 über einige innovative Features, welche die Digitalisierung des Transportsektors weiter vorantreiben. Im ersten Schritt werden neben Over The Air (OTA) Software Updates, die Ortung von Fahrzeugen, die Erhebung von Live-Zustandsdaten des Fahrzeugs und eine Online-Diagnose möglich sein.

 

Innovative Technologie zur Elektrifizierung in Serienqualität

Als Hersteller und Entwickler elektrifiziert pepper kundeneigene Fahrzeuge, stellt Umrüstbetrieben und OEM komplette etrofit Kits oder Endkunden auch bereits fertig umgerüstete Fahrzeuge zur Verfügung. Das preisgekrönte, serienreife etrofit Elektrifizierungskit beinhaltet dabei alle für eine Umrüstung oder einen Neufahrzeugaufbau benötigten Komponenten. Herzstück des modularen Antriebssystems ist die pepper-eigene Vehicle Control Unit (VCU): Die Systemsoftware-Architektur zur zuverlässigen Steuerung des gesamten Fahrzeugs entspricht dabei dem höchsten Standard der Automobilindustrie für funktionale Sicherheit (ISO 26262).

 

Ganzheitliche Lösung zur wirtschaftlichen Dekarbonisierung von Fuhrparks

Der von Politik und Gesellschaft zunehmend geforderte schnelle Wandel hin zu einer klimaschonenden, emissionsfreien Mobilität stellt Unternehmen im Transportsektor vor große Herausforderungen. Ein pepper-eigenes Konzept unterstützt Kunden, die komplexen Herausforderungen des Umstiegs auf einen emissionsfreien Fuhrpark mit der Bereitstellung eines kompletten Ökosystems zu lösen. Es umfasst Lösungen in verschiedenen Modulen, wie die Bereitstellung von Ökostrom zu wettbewerbsfähigen Preisen, die nötige Ladeinfrastruktur am Kundenbetriebshof, Fahrzeuge und deren Betrieb (ohne Fahrer*innen), Services & Wartungen, aber ebenso zusätzliche Add-Ons wie Schulungen oder Nachhaltigkeitsberichte. Vorhandene Fahrzeuge und Infrastrukturen können dabei fortgeführt und risikofrei transformiert werden.

 

Auf der IAA Transportation 2022 in Hannover präsentiert die pepper motion GmbH ihre Lösungen für die Mobilität der Zukunft in Halle 20, Stand A21.

 

Über die pepper motion GmbH

pepper – electrifying transportation! Das deutsche, privat finanzierte Unternehmen mit Sitz in Denkendorf und Büros in Garching bei München, Paderborn und Wien beschäftigt mehr als 100 Mitarbeiter*innen.

Als erster digitaler OEM weltweit (ohne eigene Lagerhaltung und Fertigung) bietet pepper innovative Lösungen für die Elektrifizierung (Retrofitting) von gebrauchten und neuen Nutzfahrzeugen wie Lastkraftwagen im Verteilerverkehr, Bussen im öffentlichen Personennahverkehr (ÖPNV) sowie kommunalen Fahrzeugen an. pepper ist ISO 9001 zertifiziert und gewährleistet als einziger Anbieter von Umrüstlösungen Betriebssicherheit nach internationalen Standards der Automotive Industrie wie funktionale Sicherheit ISO 26262. Ein internationales Partnernetz garantiert Service und Verfügbarkeit in Europa.

Mit seinem ganzheitlichen Ansatz bis hin zu Telematik, Ladeinfrastruktur, Flottenmanagement und autonomem Fahren konzipiert das Unternehmen schnell umsetzbare und kosteneffiziente Lösungspakete für den nachhaltigen Mobilitätswandel und ein „Second Life“ von bestehenden Nutzfahrzeugen. Es unterstützt effektiv die Umsetzung der CO2-Einsparziele gemäß europäischem Green Deal Abkommen und der seit Mitte 2021 geltenden Clean Vehicles Directive.

pepper wurde mit dem Deutschen Mobilitätspreis (2018) und dem österreichischen VCÖ Mobilitätspreis (2019) ausgezeichnet sowie zu einem der Top 50 Startups in Europa im Bereich Mobilität gewählt (2020, EUSP).

Die Tochtergesellschaft pepper motion Austria GmbH mit Sitz in Wien ist das Software-Entwicklungszentrum der pepper Gruppe. In Frankreich, Italien und Polen ist pepper mit weiteren Vertriebsstandorten vertreten.

Weitere Informationen: www.peppermotion.com

 

Pressekontakt:
360°communications GmbH
E-Mail: peppermotion@360communications.de
Tel: +49 89 5436994 00

Download PDF

Leave a Reply